Behind Again

Why do I always feel that I’m behind on EVERYTHING???? Maybe because I am!

Yes, I have always been a procrastinator (much to my mom’s dislike) but it seems since Mike’s diagnosis in March 2010….I am BEHIND on EVERYTHING. Sometimes it is hard to focus. Sometimes I just want to “play” on the computer. Sometimes I just want to do nothing (unfortunately….this happens way too often these days!). My energy level is just very low (and yes….I take LOTS of vitamins!). My friend Lori calls this fatigue.

Per Lori, fatigue is not the same as being tired. Tired can be resolved with sleep. Fatigue is altogether different and it affects everything, including your health. Click here to read her advice.

We were lucky enough to meet Lori in Little Rock, AR at a speech that she gave at UAMS. She spoke wonderfully and she touched my heart (and often still does!). The thing she said in her “speech” (which felt more like she was talking just to me) that I loved was that caregivers often speak as “we”. I often found myself doing this while writing Mike’s carepage. “We” have an appointment. “We” are on Day 5. I wondered if it bothered anyone that was reading the blog….but I promise….when you are going through cancer as a couple…it is definitely a WE. 🙂 

I digress (maybe another reason I am BEHIND).

Today I finally got a bunch of thank you notes in the mail. We have been on this “journey” for over a year…and I probably have only mailed 5-7 thank you notes. How horrible. We have had HUNDREDS of people who have helped us in one way or another….and it will be impossible to send thank you notes to every person….but there are many that we DO owe at least a thank you note! Well today…..I got about 2/3 of the ones on my “current” list! And now I’m worried about all that I forgot!

Yes….I do try to often say thank you in person, in emails, and especially on our carepage. (see….”our”…not “Mike’s”) 🙂 But how can I ever thank everyone????? But I will try not to worry about that nor feel guilty if I forget someone. Hopefully, 99% of the people that did something for us….did it out of love and did not expect anything in return….even a thank you note. Or at least I sure hope so! 🙂

Also, I finally composed an email to family about Ian’s high school graduation in May and got it sent out. We still do not have the announcements (which I’m glad because I’m tired of addressing envelopes!).

So for today, I am going to mark it down as a day of accomplishment!

Now to get on that huge load of laundry, wedding photos I owe my nephew & niece and who knows….maybe even a little house-cleaning! Geez…..I’m BEHIND again. 🙂

About Angie Murray

As an attempt to voice my "madness" concerning Multiple Myeloma and life, I have started this blog.
This entry was posted in Coping, Fatigue. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Behind Again

  1. Lori Puente says:

    My mother was insanely organized, back in the day when being a homemaker, mother, wife, had real value and purpose. She used to crack me up when she would say, “all you have to do is…” Finally, she gave up and when I was flustered about stuff she would say, “It’s not going anywhere!” I loved her for that.

    You are working, a Mom, a caregiver… enjoy your family Angie and do the things you want to do, the other stuff, well, it’s not going anywhere! 🙂

    PS Thanks for your kind words!

Leave a comment